The Current Hour with a Skunk

Josh Embry
5 min readMay 13, 2021

By: Josh Embry

I am writing this on the toilet seat in the locked bathroom of my 250 square feet apartment as a horrid smelling skunk wreaks havoc on my place.

Source: nationalgeographic.com

As I’m sure you are wondering how this scene came about, I will rehash the previous events of my day so you (as well as I) can better understand how this transpired.

I can hear the rascal gnawing on the baseboards now.

I recently moved into a new apartment, but although it is called an “apartment,” it really is a house that has been separated into smaller living quarters.

My landlady told me the house was built in 1890 and was later turned into a bed-and-breakfast for fisherman working along the Ohio River.

When I first toured the house, one would think a crew of thirty sailors stayed in there because of the repugnant smell of dead fish.

It hit me like a heat wave. It was one of those smells that is so bad that the only way to trudge through it is to mouth-breathe the whole time and be careful not to prematurely breathe through the nose, for if one were to sniff while still in the fallout area, death would be inevitable (not really, but it feels like it in the moment).

My landlady said the smell comes from a Chinese woman who lives in one of the apartments…

--

--